Life's a Gamble: Penetration, The Invisible Girls and Other Stories

Pauline Murray

Publication date: 14/09/2023

Signed to the page by Pauline Murray

Life’s a Gamble is the autobiography of iconic singer-songwriter Pauline Murray. It recounts her journey from a small mining village in northeast England, through to gaining national recognition as the frontwoman of her band, Penetration, and how she became a key member of the punk movement.

Emerging onto the punk scene at just 18 years old, inspired by an early encounter with the Sex Pistols, Pauline details how she played alongside the leading bands of the era, navigated the demands of the music industry, conquered the post-punk landscape with the Invisible Girls, opened her own music studios and reformed Penetration in 2001.

Highly illustrated with unseen photographs and drawing upon Pauline’s teenage diaries, interviews and archive material from her personal collection, this book chronicles the life and work of an authentic creative artist and punk rock legend.

'A beautifully written down to earth account of growing up in the north of England, discovering punk, and making a career from music. Pauline writes from the heart with no airs or graces. It is a joy to read her long awaited life story and unique perspective of those legendary times and beyond, with plentiful accompanying images. Essential reading!' Gaye Black, The Adverts

'This is a clear-eyed account of Pauline’s creative journey. She never loses her punk vision, and serves as an example to up-and-coming musicians of the resilience and tenacity you need to survive and thrive. You’re with her all the way- I couldn't put it down.' Helen McCallum

Publication Date: 14.09.23
ISBN: 9781913172701
Extent: 192 pages
Format: Hardback

£25.00 GBP
| /