All 'RSD Drop 1" titles will be available for purchase on Saturday 12th June. Online sales for remaining stock will start at 6pm 12th June.

As the Stax/Volt Revue was busy touring the world during 1967, the city of Memphis had become the place to cut soul records. America’s record companies were sending artists down in droves to grab a piece of that magical sound the city’s recording engineers and producers were conjuring up. Yet Stax wasn’t the only place in town cutting hit records. While Sam and Dave were recording Soul Man at Ardent Studios, Chips Moman was cutting James Carr’s The Dark End of the Street at Willie Mitchell’s Royal Studios. Moman also had a couple of studios of his own, East Memphis and American Sound, where John Richbourg recorded many Sound Stage 7 artists. This LP brings you sixteen tracks cut in the city during that golden year. It features some artists you know and others you may not, and ranges from upfront dancers to deep soul ballads – Memphis Soul ’67 at its very best!

SIDE ONE 1 I Call You Lover But You Ain't Nothing But A Tramp - Margie Hendrix

2. I Can't Put My Fingers On It - Junior Parker

3. I Can't Afford To Lose Him - Ella Washington

4. Times Are Bad - Bobby Barnes

5. Save Your Love - Buddy Lamp

6. Darling Please Tell Me - Roscoe Robinson

7. Mr Green Mrs Green - Gladys Tyler

8. High Society Woman - Roosevelt Grier


1. Restless - Margie Hendrix

2. So Good to Me - George Jackson

3. Words Won't Say - Norm West

4. Can't Get Over Losing You - Ray Scott

5. You Can Never Keep A Good Man Down - Danny White

6. I Shed A Tear - Bobby Barnes

7. Do Right Woman Do Right Man - Dee & Lola

8. Somebody Help! Anybody - Johnny Scott

Format: LP

£19.99 GBP